top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe British Polio Fellowship

Leicester hosts National Indoor Games

Updated: Mar 28, 2022

Around 150 polio polio survivors came together in Leicester last weekend (18-20 March) to compete in a range of adapted sports and games, despite personal challenges with mobility and physical disabilities.

The Marriott Hotel hosted the National Indoor Games for the British Polio Fellowship, a leading charity in supporting and empowering polio survivors and those affected by the neurological condition, Post-Polio Syndrome (PPS).

The National Indoor Games is held annually and qualifiers from regional heats across the country competed for individual and team success in nine disciplines: Scrabble, Darts Standing, Darts Sitting, Draughts, Fives and Threes, Dominoes, Cribbage, Bowls, Boccia and Kurling.

“This is the event of the year for many of our members and we thank Leicester for its hospitality. The contestants really look forward to this opportunity of making new friendships and rekindling old ones. Last year, the Games were cancelled due to COVID, so we were delighted to get back together to tackle problems of isolation and loneliness some of our members have faced over the past 18 months” explained Kripen Dhrona, Chief Executive Officer at the British Polio Fellowship.

The weekend was rounded off on Saturday evening with a Gala Dinner and awards presentation to celebrate this years' winners (listed below). The award for the highest scoring region went, for the sixth year running to the North West Region.


1. Linda Evers (Yorkshire Region)

2. Mary Guild (Scotland Region)

3. Joe Pendon Rowley (East Midlands Region)

4. Genny Hickey (East Midlands Region)


1. David Howells - winner for the 10th year (Yorkshire)

2. Michael Lewins (Yorkshire)

3. Michael Poole (East Midlands)

4. Abolahan Sarumi (Home Counties North (HCN))


1. Stewart Thompson (Scotland)

2. Tom Maddocks (North West)

3. Mike Harper (East Midlands)

4. Howard Parker (North West)


1. Elizabeth and Kenneth Whitham (Yorkshire)

2. Pam Martin and Val Poole (East Midlands)

3. Debbie and Mike Shapiro (HCN)

4. Lyla Scot and Mary Thompson (Scotland)

5S & 3S

1. Mary Barker and Bill Burton (Western)

2. Karen Pike and Dee Cartwright (North West)

3. Ana Davies and Pat Devine (HCN)

4. Dennis and Ann Kay (Yorkshire)


1. Andy Gilliland (North West)

2. Paul Oulton (North West)

3. Mahfuzur Rahman (HCN)

4. Dawn Fisher (South of England)


1. Robert Reid (HCN)

2. Joan Robson (Yorkshire)

3. Harry Jackson (North West)

4. Paul Windle (North West)


1. Mike Griffiths (North West)

2. Norma Tulley (Western)

3. Helene Brown (Scotland}

4. Glynn Lloyd (Western)


1. Trevor Rennie (East Midlands)

2. Debbi Hill (North West)

3. Jeff Draper (Scotland)

4. Hoda Aljalaby (HCN)


1. Paul Marchant (Yorkshire)

2. Anna Tizzard (Scotland)

3. Linda Morton (North West)

4. David Mitchell (East Midlands)


1. David Williams (East Midlands)

2. Pat Leyden (Scotland)

3. Frank Evers (Yorkshire)

4. Dave Clark (North West)


1. North West - winner for the 6th year

2. Yorkshire

3. East Midlands

4. Scotland

220 views0 comments


bottom of page